Header Graphic
menu top
menu bottom
Side Image

Ophelia Taylor Horticulture Award

AHS Region 12 has made available the Ophelia Taylor Horticulture Award (formerly a medal, now a pin) in memory of Mrs. Bright Taylor. This pin may be earned at any accredited AHS show. An exhibitor may receive this award only one time. If this award is to be offered, it must be printed in the show schedule.

Classes 1 and 2 must be judged by Senior Exhibition Judges on a special score sheet furnished by the AHS Exhibitions Chair. Upon completion of judging, the General Show Chair or Tabulations Chair must collect the score sheets from the three (3) judges, and the Tabulation Committee shall tabulate the scores. Any winning Entry must score ninety-five (95) points or above individually for each of the five (5) scapes from each of the judges.  No person who has an Entry in this section may serve on this Tabulation Committee, nor may such an exhibitor observe the score sheets or the Tabulation Form.

Each of the Ophelia Taylor Horticulture Award Judges shall sign and date the score sheet.

Upon completion of the judging and tabulation, the score sheets shall be sealed in an envelope, and they must be returned to the AHS Exhibitions Chair with the Final Show Report within 2 weeks of the show date. Scores should not be discussed with the exhibitor(s) or anyone except the Show Chair and the Tabulation Chair. The score results will not be official until they have been verified by the Exhibitions Chair or the Exhibitions committee.

The following classes will be offered:
            Class 1:  five different registered cultivars
            Class 2:  five different seedlings

Recipients of the Ophelia Taylor Award:

Year Winner State / Region / Club Class
2016 Bill Waldrop Georgia (Region 5) Class 1
2015 Dominique Elliott Georgia (Region 5, Ogeechee DS) Class 1
2015 James Mullins Georgia (Region 5, North Georgia DS) Class 1
2015 Ray Quinn North Carolina (Region 15, Raleigh HS) Class 1
2015 Beth Creveling Pennsylvania (Region 3, Delaware Valley DS) Class 1
2014 Jan Joiner Georgia (Reg 5, Ogeechee DS) Class 1
2013 Scott Elliott Georgia (Reg 5, Savannah DS) Class 1
2013 Mark Franklin Georgia (Reg 5, Cobb Co-Gr Atlanta DS) Class 1
2013 Tim Herrington Georgia (Reg 5, Savannah DS) Class 1
2013 Heather Herrington Georgia (Reg 5, Middle GA DS) Class 1
2012 Michael Miller Virginia (Reg 3, Richmond Area Daylily Society) Class 1
2011 Linda Sample Florida (Reg 12), Bay Area DS) Class 1
2010 Earl Watts Mississippi (Reg 14, Hattiesburg Area DS) Class 1
2010 Reba Ridaught Florida ( Reg 12, Suwannee Valley DS) Class 1
2009 Jared Bell
(AHS Youth Member)
Georgia (Reg 5, Valdosta Daylily Society) Class 1
2008 Kit Walter Ohio (Reg 2, Columbus Metropolitan DS) Class 1
2008 Cecil Daniels Mississippi (Reg 14, Mobile Hem. Society) Class 1
2007 Randall Preuss Mississippi (Reg 14, Hattiesburg DS) Class 1
2006 Greg Schindler Michigan (Reg 2, Southern Michigan DS) Class 2
2005 Katie Sue Herrington Georgia (Reg 5, Dublin DS)  Class 1
2005 Jerome Ridaugh Florida (Reg, 12 Suwannee Valley DS) Class 1
2005 Tim Bell Georgia (Reg 5, Albany DS) Class 1
2005 Richard Henley Ohio (Reg 2, Metropolitan Columbus DS) Class 1
2004 None    
2003 None    
2002 None    


© Copyright 2015-2016 by the American Hemerocallis Society, Inc.
Page Bottom